Not so hungry for the Hunger Games

“I think I was just following a hype”

So this is exciting, my first post as a blogger! I’m starting with The Hunger Games trilogie, I guess that’s where the quote came from, A REAL HYPE.

First of all I’d like to say why I started reading English books. When I was in high school I didn’t put much effort in reading, while I actually did enjoy reading. It wasn’t that I didn’t wanted to, I just couldn’t find the time. But now I know, you don’t have to find time to read books, there is always time. You just need to really do it!
My best friend from class did read already a lot of English books. She is one of the reasons why I started reading English in the first place. That’s how I got to know The Perks of Being a Wallflower, To Kill A Mockingbird, Looking For Alaska,... because she read a lot of classic books, the must read ones. All of these are now really famous, but three years ago, nobody had heard of them. So that’s how I learned about English books.

Last year, before Catching Fire went into theaters, I thought: Why don’t I read the books before I see the movies. I had already seen The Hunger Games. That was how it all started. How I learned about reading and how much fun it actually is. So in this secondhand store I ordered the trilogy. I only paid like 10 euros for a trilogy which was in such good state. These were my first English books. I’m starting with the first one:

The Hunger Games

The Hunger Games, wow, my first English book. I did find it amusing to read. The only not so nice thing about it was that I had seen the movie before I read the book. When I was reading the book, I saw the movie all over again. It was exactly alike. So I wondered if I would think the book would be better than the movie if I had read it first. Well I guess I’ll never know. Have you guys already read the books? What were your findings about the difference between the book and the movie?

When the movie ended, I didn’t really think that a sequel was necessary. It ended perfectly for me. Okay you could make a sequel, but it’s like you have eaten to much and still try to put more food in. I thought this book was very easy to read, I did read this book in a couple of days. The end really triggered me to read the next book:

Catching Fire

With this one, I read te book before I saw the movie. The book was very good! The story just went on in my head, I had this whole imagination of how the world they were put in looked like, the things they did, the unknown characters,… But then I saw the movie. Okay, it was pretty good, but not what I expected. In the book the writer would build up a moment and make it so exciting. In the film everything just happened immediately. I can give you an example, but I don’t think it’s very useful. (Think of when she got this tube to get water out of trees. In the book she really thought about what that object would be for. In the movie she knew it immediately. Stupid example, but one of the many times I thought the movie was boring).

I guess I can’t really hate this, because I think it’s with every book and movie the same.

The end was much better than in the first book. Peeta went missing so there would have to be a sequel. But I didn’t really like the sequel:

MockingjayΒ 

This was just… very bad. I didn’t like a thing about this book. The whole concept was just off. I think I finished the book in 8 months. I did certainly not have courage to pick up the book and read. There was nothing in it that made me want to read further. The only thing I liked, was getting Peeta back and seeing that he went crazy. I get why there was war and all, but it just didn’t make any sense. It was so boring to read. I know have seen the first part in theatre, I thought it was a little better than the book. But it just didn’t have any effect on me. I was a little disappointed.

I certainly did learn that not every book can be great or a good read. That’s what I get reading the hypes I guess!

Tell me what you guys thought about the books and more specifically Mockingjay.

Hope you have a good weekend

LOTS OF LOVE

SARIE

6 thoughts on “Not so hungry for the Hunger Games

  1. TheAliceFan says:

    I have been seeing people getting disappointed with the third book, and I believe they should have made it a duology or something instead of dragging things on and on (I haven’t read them, so I don’t know whether I will like it or not, yet πŸ˜› ).

    Great post! I also review a number of books (mostly classics for now, but I plan to include more recent works in the near future), so be free to check it out! πŸ˜€

    Wish you success in blogging, and have fun!

    Like

    1. itsaarie says:

      You’re totally right! They should have stopped with the second book and a GOOD finish for Peeta. I haven’t seen the third movie, because of the book, so that means a lot I think! :’D
      Thanks a lot for your comment, and I will check out your blog too
      !

      Liked by 1 person

      1. TheAliceFan says:

        But I feel like I should give the series a try! Still, it’ll probably have to wait since the feedbacks aren’t that great for the last book, and I need to save up πŸ™‚

        Yes! Thank you so much πŸ˜€

        Like

Leave a Reply

